Abdul Muhaimin Roslan launched his CP130 campaign on a positive note as he blazed to the top of the timesheets at Stadium Batu Kawan in Penang, host to the opening leg of the 2013 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship today.

Despite the track being slightly damp following a downpour this morning, the Yamaha Maju Motor rider delivered a stunning pace to log in the best lap time of 53.181s, narrowly leading by 0.040 seconds ahead of Yamaha factory rider, Mohd Zamri Baba (PETRONAS Yamaha – CKJ) with 53.221s.

Third fastest for the day was veteran, Ahmad Fuad Baharudin (Faito Yamaha Motobert) with 53.231s.

“Things are finally looking up for us,” said Muhaimin.

“Last season we struggled a lot to stay competitive but this time we came prepared. The mechanics did a great job translating my input on how the bike reacts in the wet and this helped ease riding here in Batu Kawan,” he added.


Tengku Amirul Haffiruddin returns to the CP115 for a second term bigger and stronger after a disappointing stint in 2011.

The Motul Yamaha YY Pang rider, feeling more confident having spent last season in the WIRA class came in fourth fastest for the day with a best lap of 55.157s followed by PETRONAS Yamaha – CKJ rider, Ahmad Afif Amran fifth.

Leading the time sheets was Sasitharen Sukumaran with 54.399s followed by Shazuan Azrulizam Salim and Abdul Haffiz Rashid with 55.084s and 55.118s respectively.


Warner Pumps – YSP duo returns from the season break bigger and stronger as duo, Mohd Shafiq Rosli and Mohd Hafiza Rofa took top two positions in the WIRA timed practice in Batu Kawan today.

Shafiq got the better of his teammate to lead the WIRA time sheets with 55.427s while Hafiza settled for second best for the day with 55.803s. Completing the top three was Nurahmad Fariznazreen of Mos Track Pro Yamaha Racing with 55.899s.

Yamaha 135 Super Series

Mohd Azam Omar, coming back after the season break went smoothly ahead of the rest clocking fastest time of the day in the Yamaha one-make series. With 1:00.708 on the record, Azam not only became the fastest rider of his class but also of all three one make classes.

Mohd Ibrahim Mohd Norrodin made his eighth lap his fastest in 1:01.663. By this time, the bad weather had forced the riders to slow down, hindering any sudden move to overtake.

Third on the chart was Mohd Fariz Ahmad Faizal, also an unusual face to the frontrunners of the championship

No Comments

Post A Comment