Yamaha supported riders suffered a bad day at the office as none of them made it to the front row in the SuperSports 600cc qualifying session in Round Three of the PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship at the Autopolis Circuit in Japan on Saturday.

Despite posting the second quickest time in yesterday’s practice, Ahmad Fuad Baharudin could not retain the same momentum in the qualifying that commenced both under dry and wet conditions. In the end the PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha ace settled for 11th (row 4) having posted his best lap time at 1’57.462s.

Teammate, Yuki Ito qualified 14th in 1’57.899s while rookie, Ahmad Afif Amran came in 24th quickest with 2’00.868s.

Meanwhile Japan’s Katsuaki Fujiwara narrowly missed out on pole to Jakkrit Swangswat but reclaimed it with a last minute effort of 1’55.158s. Jakkrit will start second with 1’55.800s while Tomoyoshi Koyama locked out front row with 1’56.022s.

Mitsunori Okamura, Makoto Tamada and Ratthapong Wilairot took control of second row.

The Malaysian contingent faired better in the Underbone 130cc with Mohd Amirul Ariff Musa and Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said securing the top two positions with 2’18.654s and 2’19.271s respectively.

Rounding up the front row was championship leader, Gupita Kresna who timed 2’19.321s.

PETRONAS Hong Leong Yamaha’s Ahmad Fazli Sham will take off from second row in fourth place having recorded his best time at 2’19.598s while teammate, Mohd Affendi Rosli who has been struggling in search of a competitive setup with start from 11th.

Motul Yamaha YY Pang’s Hokky Krisdianto and Mohd Izzat Zaidi Salehan will head the Underbone 130cc challenge from ninth and 10th grid respectively.

No Comments

Post A Comment